David Burke Honored During 2017 Doctor's Day

    David T. Burke, MD, MA, Chairman and Professor for the Department of Rehabilitation Medicine, was honored by the Emory School of Medicine Recognitions Committee for 2017 Doctor’s Day. Over 160 Emory physicians were nominated by their peers and colleagues for their dedication to improving the health and well-being of our patients and community through the care they provide, the research they conduct, and their efforts to teach and inspire learners. 

    In recognition of Doctors' Day, the Recognitions Committee sent out a call for nominations for doctors across the School of Medicine who go above and beyond.  The committee reviewed each nomination and selected those who exemplify the outstanding faculty of the Emory School of Medicine. Through his nominations, Dr. Burke shows a combination of dedication to patient care, as well as training the next generation of physicians.  His nomination quotes include:

    • “Supportive of staff and faculty"
    • "He is known for his attention to detail, his open-door policy, and his willingness to teach"
    • "Dr. Burke is known to tackle a number of tasks in his field and is dedicated to his patients"

    Also nominated for a Doctor’s Day award was Dale C. Strasser, MD.  Dr. Strasser is an Associate Professor with the Department of Rehabilitation Medicine.